Another PayPal scam website, BEWARE?


Hello,

I just received some fake message pretending to be from paypal, leading to a fake Paypal website.

However, unlike most similar scams this one was pretty smart!
I almost fall for it, allthough I am a software engineer myself…

Here is the deal:

The fake message sender will be probably: “service@https-paypal.com”

Then the contents of the email is something like that:
“PayPal rewards the best customers with generous bonuses this christmas”.

And at the end you find the link, leading to the fake site:

http://https-paypal.com

When I check who is the Administator of this fake website(in http://whois.ws)- someone “James…”, needless to say nothing to do with paypal Inc.

Thanks and BEWARE!

It’s christmas soon and such scams are epidemy…

Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • MisterWong
  • Y!GG
  • Webnews
  1. wizzards_23 wrote on March 7th, 2010 at 10:10 am Uhr1

    Thanks for the heads up, dude.

  2. embassydiplomat wrote on March 8th, 2010 at 8:08 pm Uhr2

    Thanks for the heads up…. Happy Holidays.

Name*: Website: E-Mail*:

Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree

XHTML: You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>